Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
Clarkson Takes Top Honors at District Governors Cup
Clarkson Takes Top Honors at District Governors Cup
Grayson County Schools
Thursday, February 13, 2020

Facing some fierce competition, the Clarkson Elementary Redhawks emerged victorious in District Governor’s Cup, placing first overall. 

The Quick Recall team of Elizabeth Barnett, Piper Mangan. John Hatfield, Asa Bratcher, Tyler Hodges, and Elijah Barnett took first in that event. Future Problem Solvers Elizabeth Barnett, Asa Bratcher, Neely Hornbeck and Brianna Barclay placed third.  

Individual awards went to Tyler Hodges, 1st, Aidan Moore, 3rd, Math; Elijah Barnett, 1st, Asa Bratcher, 2nd, Science; River Anderson, 1st, John Hatfield, 2nd, Owen Philips, 5th (tie), Social Studies; Elizabeth Barnett, 1st, Language Arts; Piper Mangan, 4th, Art and Humanities and 1st in Composition, with Autumn Brown 4th in Composition. 

The team had previously won the countywide Quick Recall Challenge, and competed in the Hardin County Whiz Kids championship, coming in second place.  To date, the 4th and 5th grade teams are undefeated. The team is coached by Julie Decker and Felicia Higdon.

Caneyville placed 2nd in both Quick Recall and Future Problem Solving events. The team also had multiple individual award winners.

These were: Samuel Kessinger, 3rd, Social Studies; Evelyn Smith, 2nd (tie), Language Arts; Josie Smith and Evelyn Smith, 2nd (tie), Channing Peters, 5th, Arts and Humanities.

Lawler students taking individual awards included Jordan Smith, 4th (tie), Math; Carter Bernard, 5th, Science; Anneliese McCray, 5th (tie), Social Studies; Marilyn Rodden, 1st, Arts and Humanities; Anneliese McCray, 3rd, Composition.

Wilkey took home the coveted Hume Sportsmanship Award, voted on by participating teams. Individual awards went to Maddox Anderson, 4th (tie), Math; Cooper Justis, 3rd, Science; Emelia Thurman, 4th, Language Arts, and 2nd, Composition. 

Clarkson Academic Team, back (l – r): Elijah Barnett, Piper Mangan, Owen Phillips, Elizabeth Barrett, Asa Bratcher, and River Anderson. Front: Tyler Hodges, Autumn Brown, Aidan Moore, John Hatfield.