Grayson County High School

photo of the exterior of Grayson County High School


The mission of Grayson County High School (GCHS) is to create and maintain a supportive learning environment in which students, parents, and staff set high expectations for college and career achievement, developing mutual respect necessary for all students to become responsible, contributing citizens.

GCHS is a comprehensive high school in Leitchfield, Kentucky with an enrollment of 1,400 students in grades 9-12 and a faculty & staff of more than 130. GCHS operates on a trimester schedule, with a rotating RTI period each morning for approximately 30 minutes during which, students receive remediation with their teachers. The remainder of the school day is divided into five periods, each lasting approximately 65 minutes. Courses last for 12 weeks.

GCHS offers broad-based curriculum, including several Advanced Placement and college credit courses. The Grayson County Technology Center is also located on the GCHS campus, offering courses in Marketing, Health Sciences, Carpentry, Automotive Technology, Machining, and Welding. Students also have the opportunity to join one of our more than 20 extra- or co-curricular clubs and organizations, including Art and Music, or 13 varsity sports.

GCHS has been classified as a Distinguished high school under Kentucky’s Unbridled Learning model for the past two years, putting us in the upper 94th percentile of all public high schools in the state. Additionally, GCHS was named a Bronze Medal recipient by U.S. News and World Report in 2015 and again in 2016.


The Grayson County High School Site Based Council will meet the first Thursday of every month that school is in session at 3:15 in the GCHS Conference Room. If school is not in session, we will meet the 2nd Thursday of that month. The following are the proposed meeting dates for the 2019-20 school year.

  • July 11
  • August 1
  • September 5
  • October 3
  • November 7
  • December 5
  • January 9
  • February 6
  • March 5
  • April 2
  • May 7
  • June 4
  • July 2

Council Members

Josh Baldwin, Principal

Tony Embry, Teacher

Donna Priest, Teacher

Beverly Dowell, Teacher

Gail Edwards, Parent

Amy Shartzer, Parent