GCHS FCCLA members and Admin of the year Matt Hayes at state conference

GCHS FCCLA had a tremendous showing at State Leadership Conference and is now headed to Seattle, WA for the National Conference in June. The chapter took home the Gold Honor Roll and State Scholarship Award, plus Families First Recognition.


Individually, several students competed in STAR Events and  qualified for Nationals. First place honors went to Lila Riggs, Chapter in Review Portfolio and Tabitha Crossman, Nutrition and Wellness. Second place finishes went to Lacey Richardson, Early Childhood Education, Hollie Hagan, Interpersonal Communications, Julian Blakeman, Job Interview, and Kaylan Robey, Career Investigations.


Rounding out Top Five placements were Addy Porter, 3rd Place Teach and Train, Angela Logsdon, 4th Place National Programs in Action, Sydney Lindsey, 5th Place Fashion Design, and the team of Jaida Logsdon, Jada Basham and Chloe Shartzer, 5th Place Focus on Children.


The team of Michenna Meredith, Tara Wells, Cierra Clark, Gabe Secora and Laslen Hatfield took first in the 1st Annual KY FCCLA Knowledge Bowl Academic Competition. They previously placed at the National Fall Conference and will also compete at National Leadership Conference in Seattle for the championship round. 


Sydney Lindsey and Laslen Hatfield were recognized with the Agnes Foster Golden Horizon Award for outstanding leadership. The award recognizes chapter members for their consistent faithfulness, often quietly working behind the scenes with patience, good humor, flexibility and skill to ensure the success of their chapter and local community. 


Several students earned their Power of One Recognition. This program focuses on goal setting through personal power in a variety of settings. Earning recognition were Sydney Lindsey, Tabitha Crossman, Tara Wells, Michenna Meredith, Lacey Richardson, Peyton Pharis, Kaylan Robey, Jenna Coulter, Jada Basham, Hollie Hagan, Gabe Secora, Donavon Heady, Cierra Clark, Chloe Shartzer, Angela Logsdon, Lila Riggs.


CTE Director and GCHS Assistant Principal Matt Hayes, nominated by chapter FCCLA members, was named Kentucky FCCLA Outstanding Administrator of the Year


Congratulations also go to Michenna Meredith, who wrapped up a successful term as 2023-24 KY VP of Peer Education.